UPDATE: The Chicken Whisperer

Progress 
In my previous update, my hen laid an egg. I expected her to lay another egg. But it wasn’t till a week when she laid another egg. I was ecstatic by then, but I didn’t touch it
this time, self control. I wouldn’t want to repeat the same incident. Then a week later, the hen (or Mrs.) disappeared. The morning after, I saw her lingering near the cage. Then in the afternoon, she disappears. So one day, I searched for her. And I found her inside a bucket in a dark corner near the coop. But it was getting dark, so I decided to relocate her inside the coop tomorrow. The next day, I had help from my aunt to create a quick nest using a basket, a cardboard box, and spare cloth. Then my aunt caught her, because I was too afraid to touch her; she gets pecky when people get too near. Hens become broody and aggressive when laying eggs, so be careful, or else you’ll get a nip (like I did). When my aunt transferred the hen, I transferred the eggs. That’s when I saw that she laid 4 more eggs! Meaning that I’m now expecting 6 chicks! Now she’s cozily incubating her eggs. After 21 days or so, they will hatch (if in good condition). But in the meantime, I’m just going to wait and relax
One more good thing is that there hasn’t been any trouble lately.

 (NOTE: A photo of the egg was not included due to the hen not leaving the nest.)
Conclusion
Why did my chicken cross the road? It didn’t.
During the 4 months, you’ll never know that there is something to learn when your with chickens. They aren’t just fussy, disobedient, difficult to catch balls of feather. They provide food for the entire world. Chicken raising taught me a few things about chickens, like they should be let go occasionally and that if you are compassionate, they will follow you more and will be easier to catch. But all in all it taught me patience. It takes time with everything, be it raising chickens, chicks, or hatching eggs. It took time before they grew fond of me. It took time before my hen laid eggs. It will also take time before the eggs hatch. Raising chickens takes a lot of patience. But in the end you’ll know it’s worth it.
Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9
I also learned to follow the advice of the experienced people, like my aunt. The Bible says that “The way of the fool seems right to him, but a wise man listens to advice.” Proverbs 12:15. Just as the verse says, I followed my aunt’s and other people’s advise. That’s why I succeeded in raising chickens.
Leave a Reply

