UPDATE: What You Reap is What You Sow

The main purpose I started planting is that because I think of it as a necessity for survival. It is a primitive skill, though only certain people are assigned to do it, it is a basic skill that everybody needs to know.

After 3 months of planting, I have had progress and I have encountered problems. But I always find a solution from the advice of those with experience

Progress

The progress has been great. In my last post about planting, I have harvested okra, bokchoy, sweet potato tops, and chili. But now, I’m starting to harvest my eggplants, the small round kind. That is one of the big developments. Speaking of harvest, I don’t think my chili has any plans to stop producing fruit. And my sweet potato tops are going haywire around their space. The bokchoys on the other hand have all been harvested and we are now starting another batch. Another considerable development is the planting of fruit trees. I forgot to mention it in the previous post. With the help of my aunt, we planted rambutan, cacao, and papaya. In 5-8 months, I’ll be ready for a bountiful harvest.

Problem

When planting you won’t have much problem since plants are autotrophs, which means that they produce their own food, given that you give them enough water or else they will wilt. Wilting is an effect of losing too much water. The leaves droop down or shrivel up. It has become one of my problems because I underestimated how hot it can be in the field. One of my eggplants wilted because of it. Another problem I faced was the weeds. Weeds grow and multiply faster than normal plants, so they prove to be an utmost nuisance. The thistle-like weeds are particularly hard to remove because of their thorns and deep roots. So one day a week, I remove them. But all in all, I don’t have much trouble with my plants because they don’t need special care like chickens do. They’re easy to care for, if I stay persistent.

Conclusion

As I said, planting won’t present much trouble if you stay persistent. And with every drop of sweat comes a reward. It will all be worth it. Trust me I know. I remembered the first time I ate my own okra. For some reason, it tasted better. But I guess it’s just the knowledge that I was eating from the hard works of my hands. It always feels good whenever you achieve something you worked hard for.

Leave a comment